Happy 2016–In Which Every Year with You Will Be New

Dear Lily June,

I trudged through a lot of what felt like “old years.” These were years in which either nothing changed, or what did change made me feel older.

And then, 2015 brought you. And suddenly, everything was new again. A smile was a discovery, a laugh, the holy grail. You have set the world aflame with novelty and wonder. I am in awe of your awe. I am in wonder at your wondrousness. I am your mother. And at thirty-one, that makes me feel young, and new, and alive, and alight.

Thank you, Lily, for 2015’s miracle. I look forward to following your first footsteps, be they literal or figurative, in 2016. Lead the way, my dear. This new year is yours to own.

15 thoughts on “Happy 2016–In Which Every Year with You Will Be New

Leave a Reply

